Hello everyone! (Official Post 1)

My name is Emily and I’m currently a third year at Wartburg, studying in History and French & Francophone Studies…you have no idea how annoying that can sometimes be to spell-out both majors for different things. I am also the appointed squire for our Sir Victor for the course! If you do not already know, I am also a redhead, so I like learning about anything to do with Ireland, and have branched my interest out to England and to Great Britain itself. I’m taking the Castles and Cathedrals class for a number of reasons! First off, I’ve always been interested in the Middle Ages, and anything that involves Medieval themes. Therefore, when I found out there was a class in which I could go to Great Britain and look at different castles and cathedrals from centuries ago, my dream came true! Part from the fact I also wanted to do a May Term course for my history major, I thought that course would be the perfect opportunity for me to immerse myself in medieval history.

What I hope to get out of this experience is to learn more about the design of different castles and cathedrals, as well as see for myself the actual nature of each landmark. I also hope to enhance my analytic skills by looking at different historical sites and interpreting their use and importance to society at the time. I am soo excited for this trip, and I cannot wait to see what the course has in store for all of us.

-Emily C

Leave a Reply

