Official Post 3 – Emily S.

Hello again!

One aspect of this trip that I am looking forward to is acting as a tour guide to a location that I chose. I have gathered many different sources about this particular place so that I can become more familiar with the location. Through my research, I have learned many fascinating facts about this location. Would you like to me to reveal the identity of this mystery location? Yes? Great! So, without further ado, allow me to introduce Caernarfon Castle!

Caernarfon Castle, one of the most famous castles in Wales, is located in North Wales in Gwynedd. The construction of this castle began in 1283 under the instruction of Edward I of England. Caernarfon Castle is just one of his many castles built in Wales. Edward I decided to build this castle after the defeat of Llywelyn ap Gruffydd, or Llywelyn the Last, the last native Welsh prince. The castle was meant to be a symbol of his power and defeat of the Welsh people. The location for this castle was chosen for a variety of reasons. First of all, this location offers quick and easy access to water and the sea. Secondly, a Norman motte and bailey once occupied this sight, as well as Roman structures. This castle is a very large, intimidating structure located on the mouth of the Seiont River. While many castles were built with round towers, Caernarfon Castle is unique with its polygonal towers. The grandest of these towers is Eagle Tower. Another unique feature of Caernarfon castles is its bands of color-coded stone.

The purpose of constructing this castle was to create a military center, as well as a seat of government and a royal palace for Edward I and his family. The castle serves as the birthplace for his eldest son, Edward II, whom he declared the first English Prince of Wales.  When the Tudor dynasty ascended to the English throne in 1485, castles became less important which meant that Caernarfon Castle was abandoned and left in disrepair. However, in the nineteenth century, when Caernarfon was a thriving port, repairs of Caernarfon Castle were state funded and under the direction of architect Anthony Salvin. Today, the castle is under the care of Cawd, which is the Welsh Government’s historic environment service. Caernarfon Castle also is host to a number of exhibits and displays, including the Royal Welch Fusiliers Museum.

I absolutely can’t wait to see Caernarfon Castle for myself! I think that it will definitely be a location that I will not soon forget.

Goodbye for now!

Emily S.

Leave a Reply

