Better late than Never. Offical Post #4

The idea of heading over to the UK in less than a week is so exciting! I am looking forward to experiencing life in the UK while we are traveling. Across the pond is a different culture with a different history than I have grown up with. I am interested to see the difference in history and culture between the country I am visiting and the one I have grown up in. I am also looking forward to trying the food and hopefully learning about what type of music is popular.

I am also looking forward to seeing the beautiful architecture in the cathedrals we will be visiting. We have been looking at picture of cathedrals, which the pictures themselves are beautiful, but I am sure seeing the cathedrals in real life will be awesome (literally, inspiring awe). Imagining life in medieval Britain by visiting castle ruins is also something I am looking forward to. There are no castle ruins, or medieval cathedrals, in the US so going to the UK will be a unique opportunity to see both.

In order to prepare for the trip I have been buying some last minute items on my list and double checking to make sure I have everything. Tomorrow I hope to start gathering all my things and start the packing process, which will hopefully not take too long. I am sure more things to add to my to-do list will come up and I am sure the next few days will be busy. However, busy days always go the fastest and next thing I know I will be on a plane headed to the UK!

In the words of Ellie from Up ‘Adventure is out there!’ I am excited to start this May term adventure with my class and see what we can learn about castles, cathedrals, and the life and culture in the UK!

-Alison

Leave a Reply

