It’s Finally Happening!

I have always been fascinated by history. I’m not sure why, but delving into the past has always been a hobby of mine, which is why I decided to add a History Minor to my Accounting Major. My name is Sarah, I am a third year college student majoring in Accounting, with minors in Mathematics and History, and I am a closet medievalist.

After being accepted to college, I took a look through the academic catalog and was immediately intrigued by this course called Castles and Cathedrals. I could imagine nothing more exciting than a month-long trip to England, Scotland, and Wales studying, you guessed it, castles and cathedrals of the medieval era. I told my academic advisor that I had to fit this trip into my schedule or else, and he made it work for me.

So, here I am. After two years of waiting, this trip is finally coming. I have already started preparations. For instance, I bought a book called Kings and Queens of England this summer at a library hosting a used book sale. It is a picture history of all the monarchs through the ages, and I intend to study it and know who was ruling and when, which will be especially useful when we visit royal castles.

I hope to gain a greater appreciation for medieval castles and cathedrals, as well as medieval Britain itself, during this course. As much as I will “geek out,” as they say, when I get to Britain and see the history right in front of me, I also wish to come away with a better understanding of the significance these places have in history.

Leave a Reply

