Blog # 3 Gloucester Cathedral

For my third blog, I will be Gloucester Cathedral. I will be discussing the history of the Cathedral, my own impressions of the Cathedral and my impressions of the evensong that we attended as a class.
I learned from Noah that the foundation of Gloucester Cathedral was built in 1072 under the orders of William The Conquer. The foundations were built by Abbot Serlo. Furthermore, I learned that king Edward II was buried in Gloucester Cathedral and that there was a ship built of solid gold that was sent sit on the top of the tomb of Edward II. He was buried in 1327. Moreover, while exploring the Cathedral I learned that for about 70 years after Edward’s II death the cathedral was a major site for pilgrims and travelers because Edward was buried there. I also learned while exploring the cathedral that Edward’s II great grandson, Richard II held a parliament at Gloucester Cathedral. Furthermore, I learned from Noah that the earliest added segment of the castle was the lady Chapel added in 1222.
One interesting thing about Gloucester cathedral that I noticed as soon as I stepped into the cathedral was the distinctive two styles, the first part of the cathedral is heavily roman influence while the other half is gothic. I also learned from Noah that the stain glasses at the Cathedral are the second largest medieval stain glass in all of Britain, the first being in the cathedral at York. The stain glass are 72 feet high and 32 width. The cloister of Gloucester Cathedral is one of the earliest surviving fan vault that were designed by Thomas de Canterbury between 1351 and 1377. Furthermore, I learned from Noah that the choir also has some of the oldest perpendicular styles dating from the 1330s. I also want to note that while exploring the cathedral the size and detailed designs embedded within the structure was beautiful and caught me by surprise as I was not expecting such designs to have survived this long. Another part of the cathedral that I found to be amazing was the tower which dates from 1450-1457. Lastly, while exploring the cathedral I learned that it went through extensive restoration between 1873 and 1890 under George Gilbert Scott.
The evensong that we attended as class was something that I have never been to before and the experience was not bad, it just was not what I was expecting. The organ was a lot louder than I was expecting but the singing was beautiful and the prayer connecting the importance of water to our daily lives was impressive in my opinion. When the priest was discussing the importance of water and how crucial it is that we limit our wastefulness of water. I found this to be something I take for granted and that I wish others were more aware off. Furthermore, I found evensong to be very different from my own religious practice as I am a Hindu on my dad’s side. In the Hindu religion prayer is usually done in silent with a lot of offering to the gods and self-reflection, it is also done in private and individually. These are some of the comparisons that I found when comparing evensong to my own religious practice.

Leave a Reply

